Thanks for logging in.

You can now click/tap WATCH to start the live stream.

Thanks for logging in.

You can now click/tap LISTEN to start the live stream.

Thanks for logging in.

You can now click/tap LATEST NEWS to start the live stream.

on air now

Create a 4BC account today!

You can now log in once to listen live, watch live, join competitions, enjoy exclusive 4BC content and other benefits.

Joining is free and easy.

You will soon need to register to keep streaming 4BC online. Register an account or skip for now to do it later.


Maroons overhauled, 28yo handed NSW debut: Teams announced for State of Origin III

Macquarie National News
Article image for Maroons overhauled, 28yo handed NSW debut: Teams announced for State of Origin III

New South Wales and Queensland have named their sides for the third and final State of Origin clash.

The Maroons have suffered a huge blow, with captain Greg Inglis ruled out with a broken thumb. Legend Billy Slater will captain Queensland in his final representative game.

Young superstar Kalyn Ponga is also out after injuring his hamstring while playing for Newcastle.

Daly Cherry-Evans makes his first Origin appearance since 2015, named at halfback with Ben Hunt dropped to the bench.

Winger Corey Oates earns a recall, as does forward Tim Glasby. Dylan Napa is 18th man, unexpected to be available due to a knee injury.

Queensland Maroons

1. Billy SLATER- Melbourne Storm
2. Valentine HOLMES –  Cronulla Sharks
3. Dane GAGAI – South Sydney Rabbitohs
4. Will CHAMBERS – Melbourne Storm
5. Corey OATES- Brisbane Broncos
6. Cameron MUNSTER Melbourne Storm
7. Daly CHERRY-EVANS- Manly Sea Eagles
8. Jai ARROW –  Gold Coast Titans
9. Andrew McCULLOUGH –  Brisbane Broncos
10. Josh PAPALII- Canberra Raiders
11. Gavin COOPER – North Queensland Cowboys
12. Felise KAUFUSI –  Melbourne Storm
13. Josh McGUIRE –  Brisbane Broncos

14. Ben HUNT – St George Illawarra Dragons
15. Jarrod WALLACE- Gold Coast Titans
16. Coen HESS – North Queensland Cowboys
17. Tim GLASBY –  Melbourne Storm

18. Dylan NAPA – Sydney Roosters

The Blues have already won the series but the game at Suncorp Stadium on June 24 is by no means a dead rubber.

NSW is aiming for its first clean sweep since the year 2000 while QLD will look to farewell the legendary Billy Slater with a victory.

The Blues have made one change with Tariq Sims to make his Origin debut from the bench while Matt Prior drops out of the team altogether.

Gold Coast Titans enforcer Ryan James has been named at 18th man as Blues skipper Boyd Cordner battles a calf injury.


1. James TEDESCO- Sydney Roosters
2. Tom TRBOJEVIC- Manly Sea Eagles
3. Latrell MITCHELL- Sydney Roosters
4. James ROBERTS- Brisbane Broncos
5. Josh ADDO-CARR – Melbourne Storm
6. James MALONEY- Penrith Panthers
7. Nathan CLEARY- Penrith Panthers
8. David KLEMMER – Canterbury Bulldogs
9. Damien COOK- South Sydney Rabbitohs
10. Paul VAUGHAN- St-George Illawarra Dragons
11. Boyd CORDNER (C)- Sydney Roosters
12. Tyson FRIZELL – St-George Illawarra Dragons
13. Jack DE BELIN – St-George Illawarra Dragons

14. Tariq SIMS- St-George Illawarra Dragons
15. Jake TRBOJEVIC – Manly Sea Eagles
16. Angus CRICHTON- South Sydney Rabbitohs
17. Tyrone PEACHEY- Penrith Panthers

18. Ryan JAMES – Gold Coast Titans



Macquarie National News